fbpx
How we're responding to COVID-19 >
Request Info > Apply > Virtual Visit >

Maharishi’s Life and Teaching: 1976 - 1985

“Again, so uplifting. What wonderful videos with Maharishi that Dr. Boncheff has collected for all of us! Well begun is half done! Looking forward for the next lessons! So beautiful.” —FL

MIU Continuing Education is pleased to announce this third course in the History of Maharishi’s teachings series. The course is hosted by Dr. John Boncheff via Zoom and will cover the time period from 1976 to 1985.

Course Dates & Times: On the last Wednesday of each month, through October 26, 2022 (10 sessions total), at 1:00 – 2:30 pm or 8:00 – 9:30 pm US Central Time – whichever session works best for your schedule. NEXT LESSON (#7) is on Wednesday, July 27, and will cover the year 1982. Sessions are LIVE VIA ZOOM!

(2:00 pm EDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 12:00 pm MDT | 11:00 am PDT | 8:00 am HST | 7:00 pm BST | 8:00 pm CEST/SAST | 9:00 pm EEST | (Next Day) 6:00 am NZST)

(9:00 pm EDT | 8:00 pm CDT | 7:00 pm MDT | 6:00 pm PDT | 3:00 pm HST | (Next Day) 9:00 am AWST/MYT | 10:30 am ACST | 11:00 am AEST | 1:00 pm NZST)

The live Zoom sessions will be recorded and posted for anyone who is unable to view the course live or who wants to review the sessions. They will be available to view until January 2024.

Free Lesson One: Click here for the Free Lesson One

Course Leader: Dr. John Boncheff

Course Fee:

  • $125 general tuition fee
  • $75 for full-time students, full-time TM® Teachers/MIU/MSAE/MERU/MF staff & faculty, low-income retirees, and anyone adversely affected by the coronavirus pandemic
  • India, South Africa, and certain other countries have a discounted rate of $35. Please locate your country in the form and find and enter your rate.

Sign Up Now!     Already Signed Up? Click here.

Previous courses in this series:


Course Description

Maharishi getting flowers

Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

In this live 10-lesson course, John Boncheff, PhD, explores Maharishi’s life, work, and teaching during the years 1976 – 1985. Far from being a mere popular history of time and place, this series delves deeply into Maharishi’s groundbreaking contributions and the evolution of his message over time, as seen through rare recordings, official transcripts, and original publications — many of which are newly acquired by the Maharishi Archives and Collections at the MIU Depository.

Some major events during this time period include:

  • Maharishi introduces the TM-Sidhi® program
  • The Ideal Society Campaign takes place
  • The Super Radiance effect is discovered
  • Maharishi organizes a large gathering of Sidhas in Amherst, Massachusetts
  • The Golden Domes at Maharishi International University are built
  • Maharishi Vedic ScienceSM and Maharishi AyurVeda® are introduced

This course will examine all of these areas and more, and we will hear Maharishi speak on how each event came about.


About Dr. John Boncheff

Dr. John Boncheff

Dr. John Boncheff

Dr. Boncheff is a longtime teacher in Maharishi’s TM organization and has taught the TM technique to over 2,500 people. He was also awarded two PhDs in Maharishi Vedic Science. The first was in Nyaya and the second was in Jyotish.

Currently Dr. Boncheff works as the video archivist for the Maharishi Foundation. He is also Co-Director of the Maharishi Global Archives and Collections at MIU, where he is choosing the most inspiring and relevant talks and publications about Maharishi’s early years of teaching from its newly-acquired collections. These collections contain over 2,000 talks by Maharishi and 20,000 documents and records.


Reviews from Previous Courses in this Series

“This course contains many gems of insight on Maharishi, SRM, the Gita, and sequential unfoldment of the TM movement. Even more than that, it gave us Maharishi. Many of us weren’t around in those early years, and this course put us there with him during the early events as if we were living them along with him. What a gift!” —MN

“Best MIU Continuing Education course ever! A timeless course.” —EM

“Very blissful! Watching Maharishi’s journey to bless the world unfold from the small seed of desire to travel down from the Himalayas to the expansion of the worldwide movement is very moving.” —LG

“A soothing cosmic bath of Maharishi darshan.” —DO

“After enjoying and incorporating the full Yoga course with Dr. Morehead into my life, I received my second advanced course this weekend in Florida. I was drawn to this course, not expecting to have a real life- and soul-changing experience. I’ve been meditating for 25 years, and just last January at a retreat in Florida, my entire experience catapulted into bliss and happiness for the first time. This course was not only lovely because seeing these private clips of Maharishi, Dr. Boncheff is an outstanding story teller and he wove the commentary and videos brilliantly.” —DS

“Maharishi’s First Years of Teaching 1955-1964, by Dr. John Boncheff, I viewed all (11) lessons over a 3-week period. I am in awe of Dr. Boncheff’s deep understanding of the lives of Guru Dev and Maharishi. Thank you to all who contributed artifacts and supported the creation of this course.” —EL

“I have been a meditator for 47 years, and while not always regular, I am getting much more serious about my meditation practice now. I loved this course and learned so much from these teachings.” —CB

“Blissful listening. So uplifting.” —LS

“Just wonderful. Absolutely wonderful. Content and presentation as well. I am so happy I took this course, and so lucky to have it free (as I am a senior full-time TM teacher).” —AC

More reviews >


FAQs

Are there any prerequisites to take this course?
This course is open to all TM Meditators, TM Teachers, and those advanced TM Meditators who have graduated from the TM-Sidhi course.

How long are the videos available to view?
Videos are available to view for one year.

Where can I contact the organizer of this event with any questions?
Please email the Office of Continuing Education at ce@miu.edu. Or you can call 641-919-0045 during office hours: Monday – Friday 10:00 am – noon and 1:00 – 4:00 pm (Central Time).

What is the refund policy?
We offer full refunds to anyone who requests them before starting the third class.

Where are the Maharishi Global Archives and Collections located?
Currently they are located downstairs in the MIU Library.

How can I contact the Maharishi Global Archives and Collections?
Please email archives@miu.edu.


More Courses

Please see our selection of Online Enrichment Courses >>>

Advanced Courses for TM Teachers, Sidhas and Advanced Meditators who have familiarity and comfort with many of the terms and concepts used in Maharishi Vedic Science >>>

Questions? Please contact ce@miu.edu.