fbpx
How we're responding to COVID-19 >
Request Info > Apply > Virtual Visit >

Introduction to Maharishi Vedic Architecture

Four different Maharishi Vastu homes

“Jon Lipman and the other Vastu architects are incredibly skilled at facilitating this enlightening material. I thoroughly enjoyed it.” —CB   More reviews >

Course Leader: Jon Lipman, AIA, Vastu architect and National Director of Maharishi Vedic Architecture for North America

Course Fee: FREE
Or if you want to receive a Continuing Education credit (1 CEU) and Certificate of Completion, there is a course fee of $35.

Prerequisites: None.

Time for Completion: 14 hours

Live Zoom Webinars: Live Zoom Q&A Webinars, hosted by Jon Lipman, are scheduled for the last Sunday of each month (March 28 – July 25) starting at 1:00 pm US Central Time. (2:00 pm ET | 1:00 pm CT | 12:00 noon MT | 11:00 am PT | 7:00 pm UK | 8:00 pm CET | 9:00 EET)

Sign Up for this Free Course Now!

Already signed up? Please click here. >

Course Description

Maharishi Vedic® architecture is an ancient system of design and construction that uses principles and elements based in nature’s own architecture. Also known as Maharishi Vastu® architecture (MVA), it has been restored and rigorously systematized according to the ancient Vedic texts by the well-known sage Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, who began promoting wellness communities thirty years ago.

This course is an in-depth introduction to how Maharishi Vedic architecture creates healthy homes, workplaces, and communities by harnessing the power of nature. It consists of eleven video lessons, four bonus videos, and periodic live Q&A sessions with Jon Lipman, AIA.

For those who would like CEU credit for completion of this course, there are also multiple-choice quizzes at the end of each lesson.

Course Leader

Jon Lipman, AIA

Jon Lipman, AIA
Jonathan Lipman, AIA, has been devoting his architectural practice exclusively to Maharishi Vastu architecture for the past 23 years, and he has accumulated more experience at reviving and applying its ancient principles than any other North American architect. His architectural work has won state awards and has been published in a number of publications, including Architectural Record.

Recently, Jon has guest lectured on architecture at many universities including Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Stanford, and Cornell; the Museum of Modern Art in New York City, the National Building Museum in Washington, DC, and many more. He is a contributing author to the books Vastu Homes and Cities in Harmony with Natural Law and Enlightened Real Estate: Transforming Ourselves and the World Around Us, by Barry B. Scherr, and wrote Frank Lloyd Wright and the Johnson Wax Buildings, which is one of the most highly respected studies of Wright’s work and highly praised in a New York Times review.

He is a past president of the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy and served for six years on the State of Iowa National Register of Historic Places Nominations Review Committee. He has also curated architecture exhibits for the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian Institution; the National Museum of Modern Art in Kyoto, Japan; Museum of Modern Art, New York City, Cornell University; and the Milwaukee Art Museum.


Reviews

“An uplifting confirmation of my experience as a Vastu homeowner. Thank you for these webinars.” —CM

“Very informative webinars. I appreciate having access to this in-depth information about Vastu architecture, and the speakers are very knowledgeable.” —RT

“I really like the range of your webinars, from discussion of the essential principles and elements to more details about construction materials and use of solar energy. And, of course, the homeowners sharing their experiences!” —LR

“Highly recommended!” —JR

FAQS

Are there any prerequisites to take this course?
There are no prerequisites.

How long are the videos available to view?
Recorded lessons are available to view online at your convenience for one year after signing up.

Where can I contact the organizer of this event with any questions?
Please email the Office of Continuing Education at ce@miu.edu. Or you can call 641-919-0045 during office hours: Monday – Friday 10:00 am – noon and 1:00 – 4:00 pm (Central Time).

REQUEST INFO

I am a US citizen or Green Card holder *

*required

Send Request >